Find a reputable business?

Complaints and Resolutions

Afterpay US, Inc. complaints

600 California Street, Suite 15-001
San Francisco, CA 94108
| Get Directions

(855) 289-6014

http://www.afterpay.com

File a complaint in less than 5 minutes!

Our complaint services are free and our team of expert mediators will assist in resolving complaints with businesses.

File Complaint

Total Amount in Dispute:
$5,579.00

Total Amount Settled:
$1,160.00

Complaint Experience

92%

Complaint Resolution Index (CRI)

BCA's Summary and Analysis:

Our complaint history for this company shows that the company responded to and gave proper consideration to most complaints. However, one or more complaints are unresolved meaning the company failed to properly address the complaint allegations or their response was inadequate.

Read More

Complaint Closing Statistics

38 complaints against Afterpay US, Inc. closed in last 3 years.
Complaints Type of response
7 Making a full refund, as the consumer requested
0 Making a partial refund
21 Agreed to make an adjustment
1 Refusing to make an adjustment
9 Refuse to adjust, relying on terms of agreement
0 Unanswered

38 complaints against Afterpay US, Inc.

Sort by

2/12/2024

RESPONSE: Agreed to make an adjustment Amount in Dispute: $709.74 Amount Settled: $0.00

Customer Complaint

2/9/2024

I used Afterpay to purchase a flight on 1/28/2023, the flight was cancelled within 5 minutes because the wrong travel dates were selected. I called Expedia and they told me that I would receive a full refund within 48 hours. I waited a few days and noticed that the money was not back in my Afterpay account. I sent Afterpay several emails as well as disputed the transaction on my Afterpay account. No one has ever responded to any of my emails and this has been for almost 10 days now. The only response I sent was when I disputed the transaction on the account. I received an email saying my dispute was closed and they sided with the merchant because I didn't send any proof. They never told me to send anything during the initial dispute. When I tried to send the proof the email was one that I couldn't reply to and then I went back to the transaction on my account and it said it's closed and I could not send anything or reopen a dispute. I have been emailing every day over the past 10 days and they say someone will get back within a day and no one has gotten back in over 10 days besides closing my dispute without letting me send my information. I also contacted Expedia again on 1/4/2024 and they said the money was refunded since 1/28/2023 and sent me a email with confirmation of the amount and the last 4 digits of the card the money was refunded to. Resolution Sought I would like my $709.74 to be back available on my Afterpay account.

Read More

Company Response

2/11/2024

Per consumer: My issue has been resolved. I received an email response today 2/11/2024 from Afterpay stating my refund has been processed and my Afterpay account has been updated.

Read More

2/25/2024

RESPONSE: Agreed to make an adjustment Amount in Dispute: $0.00 Amount Settled: $0.00

Customer Complaint

2/6/2024

Afterpay had a rewards program that after you were with them for awhile and paying on time it allowed you to not have to pay the first payment. Suddenly they have removed it and now my Afterpay plus card which I and thousands of others pay monthly for is now not allowing purchases the way they did before even when you have the money. There support is terrible and it takes them hours or days to even respond to you. When you inquire about your Afterpay plus card issues they give you a generic response about how they have the right to approve or decline orders. Which they never did before prior to them removing the rewards program, I believe this company is a scam and they were just trying to collect subscription fees without the benefits being applied to their customers correctly. Resolution Sought They need to reinstate their rewards program or figure out why their Afterpay plus card is no longer working the way it used to.

Read More

Company Response

2/12/2024

Thank you for getting in touch with Afterpay regarding Elomese's attempts to use our services. Our customer experience team has reached out to Elomese to assist with their concerns. As of 01/31/2024, the Pulse rewards program ended along with the 'no payment upfront' benefit that some Afterpay users had. All Afterpay users were notified of these changes through email prior to 01/31/2024. Afterpay understands that the Pulse rewards program has been valuable to many customers, and appreciates Elomese's feedback on this change. In regard to Elomese's concern about their Afterpay Plus Card, Afterpay does not approve all order attempts. The system takes several factors into consideration to determine order approvals. Ultimately, Afterpay is a budgeting service, committed to promoting responsible spending. Afterpay's system is carefully structured to ensure that orders are approved responsibly. Since the system has to process order requests quickly based on several factors that funnel into Afterpay's responsible spending policy, order declines may occur. In addition to a customer's individual estimated spend limit, there may be additional limitations based on the merchant where they are shopping. Afterpay does not have the ability to manually approve orders or override the system engine. However, the system does make a fresh assessment each time that an order is attempted. Elomese was able to place an order successfully using their Afterpay account on 02/02/2024 and 02/08/2024. We appreciate Elomese's understanding. Sincerely, Afterpay Team

Read More